Creative valorization of the peculiarities and choices of bluestone that are rejected for traditional applications


Context:

The Belgian subsoil consists mainly of sedimentary rocks, often of marine origin. This is also the case for blue stone, also known as "petit granit", which can be found in the region of Soignies. This limestone is dotted with small crystallized fossil remains that shine like granite crystals when broken. Because of its natural origin, the particularities vary in size, shape, etc. For technical and aesthetic reasons, and given the strict selection criteria of Carrières du Hainaut, certain stones are rejected for traditional applications.

 

 

What choices and particularities are rejected for the usual sales channels?

 

BBRI states that only Belgian blue stone is subject to the specific criteria relating to the physical characteristics and defects that result in scrap.

 

Not allowed in traditional applications :

 

  • geodes (cavities which are covered with crystals)



  • black veins or noirures (cracks filled with carbonaceous material)

 

 

Permitted defects - in different quantities admitted based on the aesthetic criteria prescribed per category:

 

  • sponges (asteractinella)

 


  • fossils

 

 

  • white spots


  • white veins, not retaining water


 

  • shells zones


 

 

If you would like to visit the quarry of Carrières du Hainaut to get a better idea of the different choices and applications, please contact Mr. Philippe Sequaris (+ 32 (0) 67 34 78 00) for an appointment.

 

If fossils would be allowed without restrictions, a large cluster of shells at a particular place of the slab could results in a lack of uniformity of color or appearance. Therefore, the stone can also be removed out of the cycle due to an aesthetic point of view.

A large part of the normal production can be valorized, but keep in mind that we cannot guarantee the constancy of the material and its peculiarities. Each boulder is natural and unique. Carrières du Hainaut wants to valorize a quantity of the rejected material.

 

Reasons for rejection :

 

1. Shape, size and quality of the material

- Blocks <1m³

- Sawn or coated slabs, rejected due to sales criteria

- Waste or residu of finished products (tiles, cobblestones, customization)

 

Tranches écartées car non conformes aux critères de vente ou de valorisation classique (de 1.5cm à 30cm)Rejected slabs that don’t meet the sales criteria or classic valorization (from 1.5 cm to 30 cm)

Some awesome textThe refuse heap: Rejected slabs that don’t meet the sales criteria or classic valorization (from 1.5 cm to 18 cm)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some awesome textCutting waste of cobblestones (thickness: 5 to 10cm) sawn sides and cut or split edges

Some awesome textCutting waste of cobblestones (thickness: 5 to 10cm) sawn sides or with a mechanical finish (dimpled, bush hammered) or flamed with cut edges

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

2. aesthetically

- Large veins

- White spots

- Large fossils

- Strong concentration of fossils

 

3. Technical quality

- Large size of noirures

- High-density of noirures on slabs

 

The peculiarities of the stone should be taken into account before the application is determined. For example, a stone with noirures has a certain porosity which cannot be accepted for outdoor use, in bathrooms or kitchens as worktop. If these carbon spots hold water, they can cause cracks after a frost or deterioration of the stone.

Architects and artists already use certain stones that are rejected. For example, there are blue stone slabs where the noirures have been excavated and these voids are then filled with a gold-colored liquid. The imperfection of the stone is not hidden, on the contrary, an emphasis is placed upon it in order to make an original wall. The irregular crust plates with pronounced relief are already exploited. The brutal aspect of the stone seduces nowadays more often.

 

Identification and labeling

 

Exceptional choice:

The stone is perfect. No noirures.

 

Superior choice:

Contains beautiful material, even though there are fine veins and a small quantity of noirures (<15% of the surface of the slab)

Current choice:

The ratio of noirures rises to more than 30% or the vein is more pronounced

 

“D” choice:

The ratio of the noirures is more than 30% and the vein is more present or there are multiple veins present


Note: for this competition, only projects, which use the 'D' choice and / or the cutting waste of the different choices will be considered.


Carrières du Hainaut traces their material - from block to finished product. If in the future a new use of the materials that are today rejected is found, a new category of slabs can be created. This category can be separately classified in order to meet specific requirements.

 

UP

Carrières du Hainaut's finishes

Valorisation créative des choix et particularités d’aspect généralement écartés des applications classiques de la pierre bleue


Contexte:

Le sous-sol de la Belgique est constitué essentiellement de roches sédimentaires, le plus souvent d’origine marine. C'est le cas de la pierre bleue ou « petit granit » présente dans la région de Soignies, à savoir du calcaire parsemé de petits débris fossiles cristallisés qui brillent à la cassure comme les cristaux du granit. De par son origine naturelle, la pierre bleue présente des particularités d’aspect très variées. Lieu à ces particularités techniques ou esthétiques et étant donné les critères très stricts de sélection des Carrières du Hainaut, certaines pierres ne pourront être valorisées dans les applications traditionnelles.

 

 

Quels sont les choix et les particularités écartés des filières de vente habituelles ?

 

Le CSTC informe que seule la pierre bleue de Belgique fait l'objet de critères précis pour ce qui concerne les particularités d'aspect et les défauts entraînant le rebut.

 

Ne sont pas tolérés dans la mise en oeuvre classique :

 

  • les géodes (cavités tapissées de cristaux de calcite),



  • les veines noires ou noirures (fissures remplies de matière charbonneuse),

 

 

Sont admis dans différentes mesures selon les critères esthétiques de la catégorie prescrite :

 

  • les éponges (asteractinella),

 


  • les fossiles,

 

 

  • les taches blanches,


  • les limés (veines blanches) ne retenant pas l'eau,


 

  • zones coquillagées,


 

Si, dans le cadre du concours, vous souhaitez visiter les Carrières du Hainaut afin de vous faire une idée des différentes applications, vous pouvez contacter Monsieur Philippe Sequaris (+ 32 (0) 67 34 78 00) pour un rendez-vous.

 

Si les fossiles sont toujours admis sans restriction, l'amas important de coquillages à un certain endroit détermine un manque total d'hétérogénéité de teinte ou d'aspect. De ce fait, la pierre peut être aussi écartée d'un point de vue purement esthétique.

 

Une grande partie de la production normale est à valoriser, compte tenu que l'on ne peut garantir une constance de la matière. Chaque bloc de pierre est naturel et unique. Carrières du Hainaut souhaite valoriser – le travail d'extraction étant réalisé - une partie de ces quantités de pierre vouées au rebut pour des raisons de :

 

1. Forme, taille, qualité de la matière

- blocains < 1m³

- tranches sciées ou surfacées, écartées car hors des critères de vente

- déchets/ chutes ou découpe de produits finis (dallages, pavés, façonnés)

 

Tranches écartées car non conformes aux critères de vente ou de valorisation classique (de 1.5cm à 30cm)Tranches écartées car non conformes aux critères de vente ou de valorisation classique (de 1.5cm à 30cm)

Some awesome textCaisse : tranches écartées car non conformes aux critères de vente ou de valorisation classique (de 1,5cm à 18cm)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some awesome textChutes production de pavés (épaisseurs : 5 à 10cm) : faces sciées et bords tranchés ou éclatés

Some awesome textChutes production de pavés (épaisseur 5 à 10cm) : faces sciées ou avec finitions mécaniques (piqueté, bouchardé) ou flammé et bords tranchés

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




2. Esthétique

- gros limés

- taches blanches

- fossiles de grande taille

- concentration importante de fossiles

 

3. Qualité technique

- taille importante de noirures

- densité importante de noirures sur une tranche

 

Il faut bien prendre en compte le(s) défaut(s) de la pierre avant de définir son application. Ainsi, une pierre avec noirures offre une porosité qui ne peut être admise ni à l'extérieur, ni dans les salles d'eau, ni dans les cuisines (plan de travail). Les taches de carbone qui prennent l'eau peuvent occasionner des éclats après le gel ou une détérioration de la pierre au droit de ces zones charbonneuses.

 

Des architectes et des artistes utilisent déjà certaines qualités écartées, à l'exemple de tranches de pierre dont les noirures ont été vidées et où un liquide coloré, doré est coule pour en faire une paroi originale. Des croûtes irrégulières au relief prononcé sont déjà exploitées. L'aspect brut de la pierre séduit de plus en plus aujourd'hui.

 

Identification et étiquetage

 

Qualité exceptionnelle:

La pierre est parfaite. Pas de noirures.

 

Qualité supérieure:

C'est de la belle matière même s'il peut y avoir un fin limé et une  proportion très légère de noirures (< 15 % de la superficie de la tranche).

 

Choix courant:

La proportion de noirures passe à plus de 30 % ou le limé est plus important.

 

Choix déclassé:

La proportion de noirures passe à plus de 30 % et le limé est plus important ou plusieurs limés importants sont présents.


N.B. Pour le concours actuel ne seront pris en considération que des projets utilisant des tranches en choix déclassées ou/et des chutes de production de tous les choix.


Carrières du Hainaut a ainsi développé la traçabilité de toute matière: du bloc au produit fini. Si dans le futur, un type de filière peut être identifiée pour des matières écartées aujourd'hui, rien n'empêche de nommer une nouvelle catégorie de tranches et de les classer à part afin de répondre à des demandes spécifiques.

 

UP

Les finitions de Carrières du Hainaut