5 projects awarded by a jury of international designers

The 5 winning projects of the “Blue Stone Awards 2017” have been unveiled and awarded today - Friday September the 29th - during the Grand Award Ceremony at Marmomac, the international Stone & Design fair, in Verona, on the booth of Carrières du Hainaut. 5 creative concepts working with pieces of blue limestone usually rejected because of their specific features, proving it is possible to explore blue limestone in a new way.


Blue Limestone of Hainaut, a non-porous natural limestone, has established itself as one of the premier building and design materials in the world, mainly because of its enduring quality. Beauty and perfection are often associated with each other. But what about imperfection? Is it possible to think and realise beautiful projects with material usually rejected during the cycle and for traditional applications because of their specific features such as white veins, white spots, veins, high density of fossils…?

Carrières du Hainaut believes it is possible! That’s why the quarry of Belgian blue limestone has launched a call for creative ideas and projects by organizing a new edition of the Blue Stone Awards – based on the success of the first edition in 2013 –, an international competition for architects, interior architects, landscape architects, designers, stone and marble masons and students. With the theme ‘Explore blue limestone in a new way’, Carrières du Hainaut invites designers to think, to develop and to work in new ways with those specific pieces of blue stone. Numerous of creators and stone professionals have been tempted by this architectural competition, organised in collaboration with Archi-Europe. More than fifty projects and concepts have been submitted by the end of July 2017.

5 projects, one per category, have been selected and awarded by a jury of internationally well renowned designers as such as landscape designer Peter Wirtz of Wirtz International Landscape Architects, designer Geert Buelens of EER Architectural Design and interior designer Kurt Wallaeys of Wallaeys Designers.



CATEGORY ‘OBJECT OR DECORATION’

 

 

 

↬ From broken doorstep to coffee table: Simon Gerssen – Weerstand Natuursteen (The Netherlands)

 

The coffee table is the offspring of a renovation. Some steps of a blue stone outdoor staircase had to be removed due to safety and durability reasons. It made no doubt to Simon Gerssen, Dutch stonemason of Weerstand Natuursteen, what new live he could give to this piece of blue limestone. “There is no better designer than nature” explains the designer. “In traditional Japanese aesthetics, Wabi-sabi is a world view centered on the acceptance of imperfection. To me, this coffee table stands for the timeless character of Belgian Blue Stone. Beauty of imperfection gives true value to this table”. Simon Gerssen cleaned the fragments, drilled holes and attached industrial swivel wheels to make it mobile. The table is nowadays the eye catcher in the living room of its creator.

 


CATEGORY ‘INTERIOR DESIGN’

 

 

 

↬ Time Light Sens : Eric Vanbrackel – EV&YOU (Belgium)

 

Eric Vanbrackel, designer in the lighting industry, aimed to create a symbolic object based on an age-old approach using elementary but noble raw material such as cutting waste of blue limestone. A basic, resistant and timeless object: a light lantern. “The vertical apertures allowing light to shine through refers to the modern world. They evoke a barcode, modern and refined architecture with vertical windows, an amphitheater… they also refer to tradition, to the signs used for counting since ages” explains the designer. During the wax smelting process the light prints are casting gradually throughout the twelve apertures. The rays of light vary in length as time is passing by, recalling the principle of a sundial.

 

CATEGORY ‘CONSTRUCTION’

 

 

 

↬ Residence VEB : Krist Michiels – Sam Architecten (Belgium)

 

The private residence, designed by architects Krist Michels and Seigert Saeren, is located in a protected landscape in the Haspengouw region of Limburg. The renovation of an old farm, which wasn’t protected but considered to be a valuable architectural element in the area, was expanded in an ingenious manner by the architects. They have designed a residence with contemporary features, in accordance with architectural rules and materials of the region.

The new area, consisting of the living room and the master bedroom, has been annexed at the back of the renovated farm. This part, invisible from the street, respects the curves of the terrain, rises at its extreme side and is detached from the old building. In contrast to the brick of the region and the shape of the farm, the annex plays with long lines, large openings and a combination of blue limestone strips with tinted steel. “The ClivEno wallstrips, placed on a ventilated foundation, gives Blue Limestone of Hainaut an even more natural look,” explains architect Krist Michiels. The architects worked in a contemporary fashion by placing the ClivEno strips with free lengths and variable heights of 5, 7 and 10 cm randomly. A modern application of a traditional material that creates the link, but also the contrast with the initial volume of the building. ”The blue-grey tones of blue limestone emphasize the purified vision in a remarkable natural setting”, concludes the architect.

 

CATEGORY ‘EXTERIOR’

 

 

 

↬ Square du Rieur and Plumecocq park, Valenciennes: Cabinet Binon (France)

 

The urban landscape project of Cabinet Binon is part of an initiative to revitalize the park and make it appealing for the Valenciennes residents. The goal is to extend the park to the historic center and create a garden with 5 senses in the place of Square de Rieur, located in the northeast of Valenciennes. The opening of the city and the view on the park - the foundation of this project - revolve around two vast ellipses on both sides of the North-South axis, the backbone of the project that connects the city center visually and physically to the swimming pool.
Blue Limestone of Hainaut was used to make the landscaping view gradually changing from mineral to vegetal. “The first ellipse is located around a monumental fountain in Blue Limestone of Hainaut, symbolizing the entrance to the square and providing a place of contemplation where visitors can sit and reflect surrounded by water, vegetation and mineral elements”, explains the landscape architect David Binon. The fountain with a crescent shape was made of vertical crust plates in blue stone as well as a bench in crust, located along the access path which follows the nature slope of the park. “This offers an elegant contrast between the polished and natural rough side of the stone, resulting from the extraction”, the designer specifies. As the floors around it, the bottom of the fountain has an opus incertum pattern with sawn blue stone plates. The pedestal, on the corner of the fountain, consists of an accumulation of on-sart plates of different sizes. The water coming out of the sculpture falls like a waterfall on the stones. A vegetation of water plants has developed along the line of the crust stone, which contributes to the decorative aspect as well as the purification of the water in the basin. The floor coverings of the front of the square consist of sawn blue stone plates in an opus incertum pattern, partly placed with grass joints and partly with mortar joints for the central path. The path that passes through the park, towards the second ellipse that closes the garden of the 5 senses, has benches of blocks in blue stone along the way and the park is closed by cleaved posts.

 

 


PROJECT OF ALL CATEGORIES COMBINED: ORGINALITY PRICE

 

 

 

↬ Graf : Chanel Kapitanj (Belgium)

 

The jury of the ‘Blue Stone Awards’ wished to highlight the work of Mrs. Chanel Kapitanj and rewarded the intelligent approach and thorough analysis to find innovative solutions that resulted in multiple, creative and original proposals. One of these concepts was the design of 'sandwich panels' - consisting of Belgian blue limestone plates on both sides of an insulating panel - which can serve as an acoustic barrier for highways, partitions or facades.
The young designer, sensitive to the questions of valorization and upcycling, focused on the essence of the competition by exploring different methods to emphasize the aesthetic and graphic character of the imperfections. Similar to the consumer campaign that convinces consumers that ‘ugly’ fruit and vegetables are just as healthy and tasty, Chanel Kapitanj explains: “In a society of overconsumption, it is important to promote 'waste', which isn’t waste. A product that presents an aesthetic problem has the same foundation. The graphic imperfections give this unique appearance to the natural stone while maintaining its renowned quality.” A conceptual approach that deserves to be highlighted, particularly in this competition.

 

 

Carrières du Hainaut's finishes

The winners of Blue Stone Awards 2017

 

5 projets récompensés par un jury de designers internationaux

Les 5 gagnants des « Blue Stone Awards 2017 » ont été dévoilés et récompensés lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix ce vendredi 29 septembre au salon Marmomac – salon international de la pierre et du design à Vérone, sur le stand des Carrières du Hainaut. 5 concepts créatifs travaillant de manière originale la pierre bleue habituellement écartée pour ses particularités d’aspect et démontrant ainsi qu’il est possible de penser la Pierre Bleue du Hainaut autrement.


La Pierre Bleue du Hainaut, pierre naturelle calcaire et non poreuse, s’est imposée comme l’un des meilleurs matériaux de construction et d’aménagement au monde, notamment pour la constance de sa qualité. Mais si les mots beauté et perfection peuvent souvent être associés l’un à l’autre, qu’en est-il des particularités d’aspect ? Est-il possible de réaliser de beaux projets avec de la matière habituellement écartée du cycle de travail et des applications classiques uniquement à cause de son aspect particulier, tels que veinures, taches, limés blancs non cassants, concentration importante de fossiles… ?

Les Carrières du Hainaut sont convaincues que oui ! C’est pour cela qu’elles ont - après le grand succès de la première édition en 2013 - réitéré l’initiative d’organiser un nouveau concours d'idées original à destination des architectes, designers, paysagistes, architectes d'intérieur, tailleurs de pierre, marbriers et étudiants sous le thème de ‘Penser la pierre autrement’, les invitant à inventer, développer et mettre au point un usage original de ces pierres. Les ‘Blue Stone Awards’, organisés en collaboration avec Archi-Europe, ont suscité l’intérêt de nombreux créateurs et professionnels de la pierre avec la soumission d’une cinquantaine de projets et pistes de réflexion à la fin juillet 2017.

5 projets, classés par catégorie, ont été retenus et récompensés par le jury composé de concepteurs confirmés de renom international – dont le paysagiste Peter Wirtz de Wirtz International Landscape Architects, le designer Geert Buelens de EER Architectural Design et l’architecte d’intérieur Kurt Wallaeys de Wallaeys Designers.

CATÉGORIE ‘OBJET OU ŒUVRE’

 

 

 

↬ D’une marche brisée à la table de salon : Simon Gerssen – Weerstand Natuursteen (Pays-Bas)

 

Lors de la rénovation d’un escalier extérieur en pierre bleue massive, une marche a dû être écartée pour des raisons de sécurité et de durabilité. Simon Gerssen, tailleur de pierre Néerlandais de Weerstand Natuursteen, y a immédiatement vu une table de salon. « Il n’y a pas de meilleur designer que la nature », explique-t-il. « Selon la tradition japonaise, Wabi-sabi est la vision d’un univers centré sur l’acceptation de l’imperfection. Selon moi, la table de salon représente le caractère intemporel de la pierre bleue de Belgique. La beauté et l’imperfection offrant toute sa valeur à la table. » Après l’avoir nettoyée et y avoir fixé des roulettes industrielles pour la rendre mobile, la table en pierre bleue a trouvé naturellement sa place dans le salon de son concepteur.

 


CATÉGORIE ‘INTÉRIEUR & DESIGN’

 

 

 

↬ Time Light Sens : Eric Vanbrackel – EV&YOU (Belgique)

 

Ces designers actifs dans l’univers de la lumière ont voulu créer un objet symbolique faisant appel à une démarche ancestrale consistant à utiliser des matières premières élémentaires et nobles, et plus précisément certaines chutes de pierre bleue écartées. Un objet de base, résistant et intemporel : un photophore. « Les ouvertures verticales qui laissent passer la lumière renvoient au monde contemporain. Elles évoquent un code barre, l’architecture épurée aux fenêtres verticales du monde moderne, un amphithéâtre... Elles renvoient aussi à la tradition, le signe utilisé depuis la nuit des temps pour le comptage » explique le concepteur Eric Vanbrackel. Lorsque la cire fond, l’empreinte de la lumière se projette au fil des douze ouvertures. Les faisceaux de lumière varient dans leur longueur au fur et à mesure que le temps passe, évoquant le cadran solaire.

 

CATÉGORIE ‘CONSTRUCTIF’

 

 

 

↬ Habitation VEB : Krist Michiels – Sam Architecten (Belgique)

 

L’habitation privée conçue par les architectes Krist Michiels et Seigert Saeren, a été implantée dans un paysage protégé dans la région de Hesbaye, dans le Limbourg. Partant de la rénovation d’une ancienne fermette, elle-même non protégée mais considérée comme élément intrinsèque au paysage, les architectes ont dédoublé d’ingéniosité pour agrandir et concevoir une demeure aux lignes contemporaines dans le respect des règles architecturaux et des matériaux de la région.
Une nouvelle partie, accueillant les pièces de vie et la chambre principale, a été annexée en contre-bas, se cachant à l’arrière de la fermette rénovée. Ce volume, invisible de la rue, respecte les courbes du terrain, s’élève en son extrémité et se détache de l’ancienne partie. Tout en contraste avec la brique de la région et la forme de l’ancienne bâtisse, utilisant des lignes allongées, de grandes ouvertures et combinant les plaquettes de pierre bleue à de l’acier teinté. « Les plaquettes ClivEno sciées, collées sur une sous-structure ventilée, offrent l’expression la plus naturelle de la Pierre Bleue du Hainaut » explique l’architecte Krist Michiels. Travaillées de manière contemporaine, combinant des plaquettes de hauteurs variables de 5, 7 et 10 cm à des longueurs libres, les plaquettes ClivEno ont été placées de manière aléatoire. Une application contemporaine d’un matériau traditionnel créant le lien mais aussi la séparation avec le volume initial de la construction. « Les teintes gris-bleu de la pierre bleue soulignent la vision épurée dans un décor végétal remarquable », conclut l’architecte.

 

CATÉGORIE ‘EXTÉRIEUR’

 

 

 

↬ Square du Rieur et parc Plumecocq, Valenciennes : Cabinet Binon (France)

 

Le projet paysager urbain du Cabinet Binon s’inscrit dans une démarche de reconquête du parc du Rieur par les Valenciennois visant à prolonger le jardin vers le centre historique et créant un jardin des 5 sens en lieu et place du Square du Rieur, dans le Nord Est de la ville de Valenciennes. L’ouverture sur la ville et la vue sur le parc – éléments fédérateurs du projet – s’organisent autour de deux vastes ellipses qui s’articulent de part et autre de l’axe Nord-Sud, l’épine dorsale du projet qui relie visuellement et physiquement le centre-ville à la piscine.
La Pierre Bleue du Hainaut est utilisée suivant une graduation qui suit une progression du minéral au végétal. « La première ellipse s’inscrit autour d’une fontaine monumentale en Pierre Bleue du Hainaut, symbolisant l’entrée du site et constituant un lieu de contemplation où les visiteurs peuvent s’assoir et contempler une scénographie entre l’eau, le minéral et le végétal », explique le paysagiste David Binon. La fontaine en demi-lune est réalisée en plaque verticale de croûte de pierre bleue et d’un banc de croûte en pierre bleue le long du chemin d’accès suivant la pente naturelle du parc. « Offrant ainsi un contraste élégant entre les faces de pierres polies et les faces de pierres brutes et éclatées issues de l’extraction », précise le concepteur. Le fond de la fontaine est lui réalisé, comme le sol alentour, en opus incertum de plaques de pierre bleue sciées. Le socle, à l’angle de la fontaine, est constitué d’une succession de plaques de sur-sarts de dimensions variables. L’eau sortant de la sculpture s’écoule en cascade sur les pierres. Le long du banc de pierre en croûte s’est développée une végétation de plantes aquatiques qui, outre l’aspect ornemental, participent à l’épuration de l’eau du bassin. Le revêtement de sol de l’avant-scène du square est réalisé en opus incertum de plaques de pierre bleue sciées, posées sur joints gazon pour une partie de l’espace et sur joints de mortier pour le chemin central. Chemin qui s’enfonce dans le parc, vers la seconde ellipse qui renferme le jardin des 5 sens, et longé de bancs de blocs de pierre bleue et de chainage en moellons de pierre bleue.

 

 


PROJET TOUTES CATEGORIES CONFONDUES :
PRIX DE L’ORIGINALITÉ

 

 

 

↬ Graf : Chanel Kapitanj (Belgique)

 

Le jury des ‘Blue Stone Awards’ a souhaité mettre à l’honneur le travail de Madame Chanel Kapitanj et récompenser une approche intelligente et une analyse pertinente à la recherche de solutions innovantes qui se sont traduites sous la forme de propositions multiples, créatives et originales. L’un de ces concepts soumis au concours consistait en la création de ‘panneaux sandwich’ – composés de dalles de pierre bleue de part et autre d’un panneau isolant – en guise de barrières acoustiques d’autoroute, de cloisons ou de parements de façade.
La jeune conceptrice, sensible aux questions de la valorisation et de l’upcycling, s’est concentrée sur l’essence même du concours en explorant différentes pistes pour mettre en valeur le caractère esthétique et graphique des imperfections. Faisant le parallèle avec une campagne visant à rappeler aux consommateurs que les fruits et légumes aux formes inhabituelles n’en sont pas pour autant moins bons, Chanel Kapitanj explique : « dans une société de surconsommation, il est important de promouvoir des ‘déchets’ qui n’en sont pas. Un produit qui présente un problème esthétique, le fond est le même. Les imperfections graphiques confèrent cet aspect unique à la pierre naturelle tout en gardant sa qualité et sa renommée ». Une démarche conceptuelle qui méritait d’être mise en valeur, particulièrement dans le cadre de ce concours.

 

Les finitions de Carrières du Hainaut